Behind The Curtain


Kernersville Little Theatre recently held their annual meeting and awards program at the Kernersville Moravian Church.  This event brings together those who enjoy food, fun, and being part of the KLT family. The awards program celebrates achievements for acting, technical/production and volunteer work for the 2013-2014 Season.




Following a covered-dish dinner and KLT’s annual business meeting, hosts Barrie Howard and Judith Gillis opened the awards ceremony.  Emerson Belk served as Trophy Master.  Musical entertainment was provided by Marie Denig, who performed songs from two of KLT’s upcoming productions;  My Way, A Musical Tribute to Frank Sinatra and The Pajama Game.

Following are the awards presented for the 2013-14 Season:



2013-14 Season Acting and Tech Awards

Leading Actor                      Barrie Howard                        The Last Romance

Leading Actress                   Steffanie Vaughan                Brigadoon

Major Actor                           Kenny Gaylord                     Brigadoon

Major Actress                       Marilyn Gaylord                  Brigadoon

Supporting Actor                Mark Graves                          Brigadoon

Supporting Actress            Judith Gillis                            Cheaper by the Dozen

Character Actor                  John Michael Sloan             Brigadoon

Character Actress               Rachael Schroeder              Brigadoon

Light Design                          Charlie Kroksh                       Brigadoon

Sound Design                        Charlie Kroksh                       Brigadoon

Costume Design                   Sylvia Tyndall                        Brigadoon

Set Design/Dressing           Jan Burwick                            Brigadoon

Tim Moore                             Brigadoon

Overall Production                                                                 Brigadoon


2013-14 Season Volunteer Awards

Outstanding Volunteer:              Amanda Coltrane, Vi Doyon, Brittany Marshall, Joy Smallwood

Blue Ribbon (50+ hrs.):              Loretta Averna, Marilyn Bledsoe, Ashley Collins, Cathy Reynolds, Bob Spontak, Sylvia Tyndall, Sherri Wolter

Worker Bee (25-49 hrs.):            Brad Burwick, Gray Cassell, Elaine Clark, Barbara King, Tim Kubiak, April Marshall, April Meehan, Mary Singer, Denise Smith, Joyce Spontak, Steve Wolter

Life Saver:                                          Denice Smith

Rookie of the Year:                        Gray Cassell, Eddie Spontak

Family of the Year:                        The Bennett and Ross Family

Outstanding Service Award:      Leslye Thornton

Photography by Gray Cassell